HomeGuides

How to Transfer Large Amounts from Canada to India (LRS Guide)

By CadtoINR Editorial Team — February 10, 2026 — 11 min read

CAD
INR
Result
1 CAD = 67.9316 INR
Checked: Nov 1, 2026 2:14 AM
By CadtoINR Editorial Team11 min read

Last updated:

Editorial standards: how we source rates and handle corrections

First separate direction, purpose, and account type

A Canada-to-India transfer is not automatically an LRS remittance. The Reserve Bank of India’s LRS is primarily a facility for resident individuals in India sending money outward for permitted purposes. An inward remittance from Canada should be assessed by its purpose, recipient account, tax character, and source—not by copying an outward-remittance rule.

A large transfer may still require identity checks, source-of-funds evidence, recipient details, purpose information, bank review, and a clear audit trail. “Large” is a planning description, not a legal threshold. Start with the recipient’s bank and the provider’s official process.

Before comparing a quote, read the major CAD guide and the large INR guide. They cover records and amount-specific questions without inventing a provider rate or fee.

Canada: FINTRAC reporting is not a tax or a transfer ban

FINTRAC says a reporting entity must submit an Electronic Funds Transfer Report when it initiates an international electronic funds transfer of CAD $10,000 or more in a single transaction at a client’s request. For foreign-currency transfers, the reporting entity converts the value using the Bank of Canada exchange rate specified by FINTRAC for threshold purposes.

The report is the financial institution’s or money-services business’s obligation. It does not mean the sender owes a tax, that the payment is suspicious, or that the transfer is prohibited. The institution may still ask for identity, purpose, or source-of-funds information under its compliance program.

FINTRAC also describes aggregation rules for certain international EFTs within a 24-hour period. Never structure transactions solely to avoid reporting. If a payment is legitimately staged by a contract or payment schedule, document that reason and follow the provider’s instructions.

Records worth preparing

Keep the sale agreement, pay statements, bank statements, investment-sale record, inheritance or gift letter, loan record, property documents, and correspondence that explains the purpose. Keep the quote and receipt showing CAD debited and INR delivered. The exact set depends on the source and purpose.

Use secure official channels. Do not email identity documents to an address copied from an unsolicited message, and do not send a second transfer to “unlock” a compliance review.

India: LRS applies to outward remittances by residents

The RBI’s LRS FAQ states that resident individuals, including minors, may remit up to USD 250,000 per financial year (April to March) for permitted current or capital account transactions, subject to the scheme’s exclusions and conditions. The limit is not a blanket limit on money that can enter India from Canada.

When money moves from India to Canada, the authorised dealer classifies the purpose and tracks the resident individual’s LRS usage. Ask the dealer for the current process rather than assuming the same rules apply to a Canada-originating deposit.

For NRI or PIO repatriation from an NRO account, the RBI’s FAQ describes a USD 1 million per financial year facility subject to conditions under the FEMA remittance-of-assets framework. It is not an unconditional right to move every balance: tax payment, source, documentation, account type, and bank review matter.

TCS: use the current enacted table, not an old threshold

The official Income Tax Department’s current Section 394 table lists TCS on an LRS remittance or aggregate of remittances exceeding ₹10 lakh in a financial year. It lists 2% for education or medical treatment and 20% for purposes other than education or medical treatment. It separately lists 2% for an overseas tour programme package.

TCS is collected by the authorised dealer under Indian tax rules; it is not a Canadian fee and it does not turn a Canada-to-India inward transfer into an LRS transaction. The taxpayer should ask the Indian authorised dealer how it classifies a specific outward payment and how credit is reflected.

The Income Tax Department’s older TCS-rates page still contains legacy 5% wording in the rendered category text. This article relies on the current Section 394 table and records the discrepancy in the audit evidence. Do not use a search snippet or an old page as a substitute for the enacted/current provision.

A 2025 official Finance Act summary also addressed qualifying education-loan remittances. Because exemptions and forms can depend on the funding source and the current rule, confirm loan-funded treatment with the authorised dealer or tax adviser rather than applying a blanket “education” answer.

Canadian tax and Indian receipt are separate questions

Canada generally does not tax the act of wiring your own already-taxed capital abroad. Income, capital gains, business proceeds, rental income, or a taxable disposition that generated the money can still have tax consequences. A transfer receipt is not proof that the underlying source was tax-free.

The CRA says most gifts and inheritances received are not reported or taxed as income in Canada. That statement does not make later income earned on the money tax-free, and it does not determine Indian tax treatment. For an Indian recipient, classify a gift, income, property payment, loan, or investment separately and retain evidence.

A Canadian resident with specified foreign property whose total cost exceeds CAD $100,000 at any time in the year may have a T1135 filing obligation. The threshold is about specified foreign property and cost, not simply every transfer or every foreign account balance. Read the CRA form and questions before filing.

An operational plan for a large transfer

1. State the purpose and direction. 2. Identify the sending and receiving account type. 3. Ask the provider and recipient bank which documents they require. 4. Obtain a final quote and note its expiry. 5. Verify recipient details independently. 6. Send through the authorised route. 7. Save the receipt, delivery confirmation, and source records. 8. Reconcile the account and ask a tax professional about any income or asset-reporting issue.

Do not choose a provider based only on a headline “fee-free” claim. Compare total CAD debited, INR delivered, route, speed, limits, review process, and evidence that will be available after delivery. For costs, use the cost guide and bank-versus-online guide.

For forms and tax rules, read the 15CA versus 15CB guide, the TCS guide, and the NRI tax guide.

Sources

  1. Income Tax Department — Section 394 (current TCS table)
  2. Income Tax Department — Form 15CA FAQs
  3. Reserve Bank of India — LRS FAQs
  4. FINTRAC — reporting electronic funds transfers
  5. RBI — NRO account and USD 1 million repatriation FAQ
  6. CRA — Form T1135 and foreign property questions
  7. CRA — amounts not reported or taxed

Frequently Asked Questions

Does India's LRS limit apply when I send CAD from Canada to India?

Usually not as an inward-transfer cap. RBI's LRS is an outward-remittance facility for resident individuals in India. Direction, residency, account type, and purpose must be checked separately.

Will a CAD 10,000 transfer automatically be taxed in Canada?

No. FINTRAC reporting of an international EFT is a compliance report by the reporting entity, not a tax assessment. The tax treatment of the money's source is a separate question.

What does the RBI say about NRO repatriation?

The RBI describes a USD 1 million per financial year facility for eligible NRIs and PIOs, subject to conditions under the FEMA remittance-of-assets framework. The bank must verify the account, source, tax compliance, and documents.

What is the current TCS rate for an Indian resident's LRS education remittance?

The current Section 394 table on the Income Tax Department site lists 2% on the amount above the ₹10 lakh aggregate threshold for education or medical treatment, and 20% for other purposes. Confirm the classification and any funding-source exception with the authorised dealer.

Related Articles

Back to all articles
Compare Current CAD→INR Offers

Compare current provider offers before you send.

Review current rates and terms from these providers. Final pricing can vary by amount, funding method, delivery speed, and eligibility.

Sponsored — we may earn a commission at no cost to you.Compare all 6 providers side-by-side →
Send CAD to India — Best Rates